Nakshatra Nadi Astrology

Nakshatra Nadi Astrology is in fact an extension of Hindu Vedic Astrology, on which lot of research work has been done by various stages and Astro scholars from time to time. It has been presented in their own style (in their various works) for the better understanding of the readers.

Since long our Sages had been working on the invention of different methods and theories to delineate horoscopes to get precise results. Vargas charts theory given by Maha Rishi Prashara has proved to be a great step towards this aim. Ashtakvarga given by Sage Maitreya was also an effort in this direction to understand the subject in a simpler way. Maharishi Jaimini has also set some beautiful rules to pinpoint the predications. In 20thcentury, Very deep research was done in Stellar Astrology around star lords and sub lords of planets, collectively by N.V. Raghava Chary and Gopala Krishnan Row and under the pseudonym ‘Meena’ published a book on Nadi Astrology in early forties.

He named these sub divisions following the Vimshottari dasha sequence. First sub division lord will be the same planet which is the lord of that Nakshatra to that we are dividing into 9 unequal parts. Rest of the divisions will be followed as per Vimshottari dasha sequence.

Example: Suppose a planet the SUN in Aries at 10°00. In Vedic system of astrology we will say SUN in sign Aries. But, in nakshatra paddhati we shall say

SUN in Nak of  KETU and sub of SAT.

Nine divisions of Ashwini Nakshatra. Lord of Ashwini nakshatra is KETU. If we go through the chart below, we shall find SUN 10° in Sub of SAT

……………Ashwini Nakshatra & Lord of Nak. Is KETU ……………

……………Sub Divisions……………

1st Upto2nd3rd4th5th6th7th8th9th
KeVeSuMoMaRaJuSa SUN10°Me

So we will write Su as        Planet                     SUN

                                         Nak.lord                  KETU

                                         Sub lord                  SAT

As a student of astrology we know that we have divided our Zodiac of 360° into 12 equal parts of 30° each for our convenience and which are known as signs or Rashis.

Zodiac is also divided into 27 equal parts and these divisions are of 13°20’ (800’) each. These divisions are known as Nakshatras or Constellations.

Every Nakshatra has different atmosphere and different lordship. We are very well aware of the fact that Nakshatra are fixed, but it’s only the planet which moves in different signs & Nakshatra as a guest for a few days or months. It is obvious that guest has to act or live as per the rules fixed by the host (Nakshatra lord). So the Nakshatra lord automatically becomes more powerful than the planet.

On the other hand in our Zodiac 13°20’ is not a small space. According to Vedic theory “One Nakshatra is group of so many stars” and we find that in such a big space, atmosphere and other significations must be different in different parts of Nakshatra.”The guest planet has to adjust itself according to the environment of that part of Nakshatra or environment provided by lord of that part. To judge the location of the planet precisely, Nakshatra is further divided into 9 unequal parts, which are known as sub parts and lord of that each is known as Sub Lord. In that way Sub lord becomes more powerful than the Nakshatra and Nakshatra becomes more powerful than the planets. Now we will write it as:

Sub > nakshatra > Planet

How to calculate area or arc of sub lord:

Now I can see that planet SUN is in Aries is not a complete address. It is just like as we say person ‘A’ lives in Chandigarh.

If, we narrow down the address we will have to give some clue as sun in Aries in the Nakshatra of KETU. You can say person ‘A’ lives in Chandigarh in sec- 27.

To narrow down further, we will say sun in Aries in Nakshatra of KETU and sub of sat means person ‘A’ lives in Chandigarh in sec- 27, house no- 2, which seems to be an authentic one or complete address.

Now correct address of sun will be defined as:

The SUN is in Aries in the Nakshatra of KETU and sub of SAT. This is the clear picture of the SUN. We can see that SUN is under the influence of KETU and KETU is under the influence of SAT.

Now, as per the rule of the Nakshatra Astrology, Sub lord is >Nak. Lord> Planet. It will be assumed that the SUN will be able to fulfill the promise with the consent of KETU and KETU with the consent of SAT. Veto power is with SAT as SAT is Sub lord. Where does the planet SUN alone stand for this nativity? Answer is ….. Now here.

Hence, you can say you have touched the nerve (Nadi) of the SUN (Pulse of SUN). So, I shall like to name this theory as Nakshatra Nadi Astrology.

Rules of Nakshatra Nadi Astrology

Rule – 1 :

1 – Planets work under the influence of nakshatra lord and further nakshatra lord works under the influence of Sub lord.

Rule – 2:      

2-Planets also work under the influence of planets conjunct with or aspected by.

Rule – 3:      

Vimshottri dasha is used in Nakshatra Nadi system. While delineating a horoscope, Vimshottari dasha sequence and rules are applied. According to Vimshottari dasha rules:

MD (Maha dasha) > AD (Antara dasha) > PD (Paratayantara dasha) > SD (Sukshama dasha) > PB (Prana dasha)

You can say “any event visible in the horoscope will fructify only if, Maha dasha lord signifies that event and in period of MD lord dasha that event will happen in the period of Antara dasha lord that supports that event, the event supported by MD & AD will fructify during Paratayantara dasha of the planet that signifies that event & so on. In other words, Prana dasha lord is  subservient to Sukshama dasha lord, Sukshama dasha lord is subservient to Paratayantara dasha lord, Paratayantara Lord is sub servant to Antara dasha lord and finally, Antara dasha lord is subservient to Maha dasha lord.

Rule – 4:      

Ayanamsha Value used in Nakshatra Nadi is the value established by the astronomer, NEWCOMB, who believed that both Sayana and Niryana zodiacs coincided in the year 292 AD, and retrograde motion of Vernal Equinox is
@ 50.2388475 seconds of arc per year. Whereas, Lahiri theory believes that both the zodiacs coincided in 286 AD. So, select the method of calculation of Ayanamsha in your software as NEWCOMB Ayanamsha or KP- Ayanamsha. But, if you have some horoscope in your hand erected by using Lahiri Ayanamsha or you are to go manually, then you are advised to add 6’ to planets and ascendant degrees. This is because one year creates difference of one minute in degree of Ascendant & Planets. For the help of astrologers, a list of Ayanamsha calculated as per this system is given on a separate page number-

Rule – 5:

To see the exact view and positions of planets, Nirayana Bhava Chalit chart is considered to be the best location master .For this we used to do a little exercise by drawing Nirayana Bhava Chalit chart. But today we are blessed with the computer software which gives us the required reports & charts with the click of a curser.

How to erect Nirayana Bhava Chalit chart:

It is assumed that student already know the technique of erecting Nirayana Bhava Chalit chart. So there is no fun wasting time and space. 

Rule – 6:

All principles of Hindu Vedic Astrology are applied to judge the traditional values and effects on planets by conjunction, aspects and potency.  

Rule – 7:

Now we have two major charts with us.

i)        D-1 (Lagana chart or Asd.chart)

ii)       Narayana Bhava Chalit chart.

We see influence of conjunction and aspects from Lagana chart.

Ownership of Bhava and placement of planets are to be seen from Niryana Bhava Chalit chart.

Rules – 8:

As explained in Hindu Vedic Astrology 12th Bhava of every Bhava destroys the signification of that Bhava. And 2nd Bhava of every Bhava enhances the significations of that Bhava. But, we have to keep in mind the complimentary house for the different subjects of life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *